Register / Enquiry
IAS Exams

IAS Exam Eligibility Criteria

The candidates who meets the following UPSC exam eligibility criteria are qualified for IAS exam. Failing to meet UPSC exam eligibility criteria, UPSC can cancel the candidature of candidate at any stage of the IAS exam. So, be sure about your eligibility for UPSC exam before starting your IAS preparations.

Qualification for IAS exam

The first IAS eligibility criteria is Nationality

  • Indian Civil services including IAS and IPS : Indian citizenship
  • Indian civil services excluding IAS, IPS, IFS (Foreign service) : Subject of Nepal/ Subject of Bhutan/ Subject of Tibetan refugee who came over to India before 1st January 1962 with the intention of permanently settling.
  • Indian civil services excluding IAS, IPS : A person of Indian origin who has migrated from Pakistan/ Burma/Sri Lanka/ East African countries of Kenya/ Uganda/ the United Republic of Tanzania/ Zambia/ Malawi/ Zaire/ Ethiopia and Vietnam with the intention of permanently settling in India.

IAS exam Age Limit and Number of Attempts

  • August 1st is the reference date for UPSC age limit consideration.
  • UPSC will consider IAS prelims attempt as an attempt of civil service exam.
  • A candidate must have minimum age of 21 years to appear for IAS exam and maximum civil service age limit as per UPSC norms:


Max. UPSC Age limit (in years)

No. Of attempts








Up to 37 Years (Unlimited) 

Blind, deaf-mute, Ortho- Handicapped, Widow 


Up to 42 Years (Unlimited) 



Based on caste & categories

Military Service (ECOS/SSCOs)


Based on caste & categories

Educational Qualification for UPSC Exam -

  • Undergraduate (pursuing final semester)
  • Graduates of any discipline
  • Postgraduates of any discipline

The candidate must hold a degree of any UGC approved Universities.(Universities incorporated by an Act of the Central or State Legislature in India or other educational institutions established by an Act of Parliament or declared to be deemed as a University under Section-3 of the University Grants Commission Act, 1956, or possess an equivalent qualification.)

Get access to question papers!
  Get Questions