Mount-batten Plan and the Indian Independence Act


We are Enjoying Our Freedom Today is all because of our Freedom Fighters Struggle and Lot More, Let us Appreciate and Remember our Great Legends who fought for our Freedom, We all are so Fortunate to Enjoy all Privileges. On the Eve of Independence Day let us go back to our past and have a overview of it. Himalai is trying to bring the best possible Memories of the Struggle which made us to Proudly say we are Independent.

Let us have a look at the Freedom Struggle we Fought and we are bring it in a Educative model which can make you enjoy the freedom struggle and prepare for the exam.


Cabinet Mission (March – June 1946):

The British Prime Minister, Lord Attlee, made a declaration on  March 15, 1946, that British Cabinet Mission would visit India to make recommendations regarding constitutional reforms to be introduced in India. The Cabinet Mission which included of Lord Pathick Lawrence, Stafford Cripps and A. V. Alexander visited India and met the representative of different political parties, but a satisfactory solution to the constitutional difficulties could not be found. The mission envisaged the establishment of a Constituent Assembly to frame the constitution as well as an interim government. The Muslims League accepted the plan on June 6, 1946, while maintaining its rights of striving for a separate Muslim state. The Congress also partially accepted the plan.

Direct Action Campaign (Aug. 16, 1946):   

Provoked by the success of the Congress (in the voting for Constituent Assembly), the Muslim League launched a ‘direct action’ campaign on Aug. 16, 1946, which resulted in wide spread communal riots in the country.

Interim Government (Sep. 2, 1946):

On Sep.2, 1946 an interim government was formed. Congress members led by Pt. Jawaharlal Nehru joined it but the Muslim League did not, on the countray it withdrew its earlier acceptance of the Cabinet Mission Plan.

Formation of Constituent Assembly (Dec.9, 1946):

The Constituent Assembly met on Dec. 9, 1946, and Dr. Rajendra Prasad was elected its President. The Muslim League did not join the Assembly.

Attlee’s Announcement (Feb.20, 1947):

On Feb.20, 1947, British Prime Minister Attlee announced that the British would withdraw from India by June 30, 1948 and that Lord Mountbatten would replace Wavell.

Mountbatten Plan (June. 3, 1947):

In March, 1947, Lord Mountbatten replaced Lord Wavell. He announced his plan on June 3, 1947. His earlier Plan Balkan was abandoned for this June 3, Plan. It offered a key to the political and constitutional deadlock created by the refusal of Muslim League to join the Constituent Assembly formed to frame the constitution of India. Mountbatten’s formula was to divide India but retain maximum unity. The country would be partitioned but so would be Punjab and Bengal, so that the limited Pakistan that emerged would meet both the Congress and the League’s position to some extent. The League’s position on unity would be taken into account to make Pakistan as small as possible. He laid down detailed principles for the partition of the country and speedy transfer of political powers in the form of dominion status to the newly formed dominions of India and Pakistan. Its acceptance by the Congress and the Muslim League resulted in the birth of Pakistan.

The Indian Independence Act, 1947:

The Bill containing the provisions of the Mountbatten Plan of Juen3, 1947, was introduced in the British Parliament and passed as the Indian Independence Act, 1947. The Act laid down detailed measures for the partition of India and speedy transfer of political powers to the new governments of India and Pakistan.



Lord Mountbatten of Burma, the last Viceroy, was asked by the Indian leaders to continue as the Governor-General of India. Jawaharlal Nehru became the Prime Minister of India and Sardar Vallabhbhai Patel became the Home Minister.

Over 560 princely states acceded to India by 15 August. The exceptions were Junagadh, Hyderabad and Jammu and Kashmir. The state of Jammu and Kashmir, which was contiguous to both India and Pakistan but, its Hindu ruler chose to remain initially independent. Following a Pakistani tribal invasion, he acceded to India on 26 October 1947, and the state became a dispute between India and Pakistan. The state of Junagadh initially acceded to Pakistan but faced a revolt from its Hindu population. Following a breakdown of law and order, its Dewan requested India to take over the administration on 8 November 1947. India conducted a referendum in the state on 20 February 1948, in which the people voted overwhelmingly to join India. The state of Hyderabad, with majority Hindu population but Muslim ruler, faced an intense turmoil and sectarian violence. India invaded the state on 13 September 1948, following which the ruler of the state signed the Instrument of Accession, joining India.



Further information: Princely states of Pakistan

Muhammad Ali Jinnah became the Governor-General of Pakistan, and Liaquat Ali Khan became the Prime Minister of Pakistan.

Between October 1947 and March 1948, the rulers of several Muslim-majority states signed an Instrument of Accession to join Pakistan. These included Amb, Bahawalpur, Chitral, Dir, Kalat, Khairpur, Kharan, Las Bela, Makran, and Swat


Know More About Our Freedom Struggle 

  1. Freedom Struggle
  2. Nature of the Revolt of 1857
  3. Indian National Congress (I. N. C.)
  4. Partition of Bengal
  5. Rowlatt Act and Jallianwala Bagh Massacre
  6. Khilafat movement and Non-Cooperation Movement
  7. Salt March(Satyagraha and Three Round Table Conference)
  8. The Government of India Act, 1935
  9. Congress Ministries Resign and Pakistan Resolution
  10. Quit India Movement
  11. Azad Hind Fauj
  12. Mount-batten Plan and the Indian Independence Act