IAS is the short form of Indian Administrative Service. It is one of the prestigious services among the 24 services like IPS, IFS etc. for which the UPSC conducts Civil Services Examination (CSE) for selecting the candidates. An officer selected into the Indian Administrative Service gets exposure in very diverse roles like the collector, commissioner, head of public sector units, chief secretary, cabinet secretary etc. There are 26 services under Indian administration.

Initially, an IAS officer is given the command over a district as district magistrate and collector. Then after few years of service as a collector, an IAS officer heads the whole division of state as commissioner of state. On reaching the Apex Scale, an IAS officer heads whole department and ministries of government of India. They also work on intergovernmental organizations like World Bank, International Monetary Fund, and United Nations etc. on deputations.

Not only the challenges and experiences but also the scope of making a change in the lives of millions in India makes IAS a unique career choice. An IAS officer is responsible for maintenance of law and order, revenue administration and other aspects of the administration in the area under him. To become an IAS officer, you must clear the civil services examination conducted by union public service commission.

Let us look at the eligibility criteria for the exam –

Academic eligibility –

  • The candidate must a hold a Bachelor’s degree from any of the universities incorporated by an ACT of the central or State Legislature in India or other educational institutions established by an Act of Parliament or declared to be deemed as a University.
  • Candidates who have appeared or intend to appear for the final examination and are awaiting results are also eligible to apply for the Preliminary Examination.
  • All candidates who have qualified the mains examination must produce a proof of Bachelor’s degree before the Mains examination.

Age limit –

  • A candidate must have attained the age of 21 and must not have attained the age of 32 years.
  • There is a relaxation in upper age limit for the People belonging to other backward classes (OBC), scheduled caste (SC) and scheduled tribe (ST). For OBC it is 35 years, for SC and ST it is 37 years.

Number of attempts –

  • Candidate belonging to the general category can have 6 attempts by the age of 32, a candidate belonging to OBC can have 9 attempts by the age of 35 and candidates belonging to SC and ST can have any number of attempts by the age of 37.

Process of exam –

Civil services exam will have three stages in general as follows.

  • Preliminary stage
  • Mains stage
  • Personality test or interview.

All the three stages are consequent with each other, as in if you clear the 1st stage you will be eligible for 2nd stage followed by its success gives eligibility to interview. Once after clearing all the three stages, you will be eligible for a Ranking. This rank will decide your service to the nation through any of these 26 prescribed services under UPSC. Higher the ranking better the service allocated.

We at Himalai will make sure you achieve your dream job. We have specialized exclusively in the Civil Services exams since 1998 and have produced many IAS officers who are serving in top tiers of the Indian government.